Księgarnia naukowa
English Polski
On-line access

Bookstore

0.00 PLN
Bookshelf (0) 
Your bookshelf is empty
Free access during pandemic


In the Garden of the Fugitives

In the Garden of the Fugitives

Authors
Publisher Penguin
Year 01/04/2019
Edition First
Pages 320
Version paperback
Readership level General/trade
Language English
ISBN 9780241982433
Categories Diaries, letters & journals, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Thriller / suspense
$12.01 $8.41 (with VAT)
31.61 PLN / €7.06 / £6.29
discount: 30%
Qty:
Delivery to United States

check shipping prices
Product available
Delivery 2 days
Add to bookshelf

Book description

A brilliant young woman and an older, more powerful man in a tale of slow-burning obsession and retribution - for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Rachel Cusk 'This psychological thriller examines what happens when the lines between victim and predator, loyalty and obsession become blurred' Mail on Sunday 'Spellbinding' Anna Funder 'Precise, cool, complex' Observer 'Striking, stylish, compelling... Her language is perfectly measured, her imagery precise, the settings lush and tactile, gorgeously rendered' Sydney Morning Herald Vita is an undergraduate when she catches the attention of Royce. She is sharply focused, slightly solitary, evidently gifted. Something in her reminds him of his own youth, of the woman he loved then and of what happened to her. So he grants her a scholarship - a transaction that will bind her to him, in subtle and inescapable ways, for the rest of her life. What passes between them haunts Vita for years. She spends her life playing cat and mouse with his shadow, seeing it slip across the mountains behind her, feeling its chill at her back. So when, decades later, Royce gets in touch once again, Vita has her own reasons for responding. He still sees her as the helpless ingenue. But she is not that any more. 'Dovey does not shy away from bluntly confronting big questions head-on... Trembling with meaning, unsettlingly alive, a literary page-turner' Kirkus Gracefully constructed * Booklist (starred review) * Dovey does not shy away from bluntly confronting big questions head-on... Trembling with meaning, unsettlingly alive, sweeping both geographically and intellectually; a literary page-turner * Kirkus * Precise, cool, complex... [A] meditation on the gift of privilege * Observer * Spellbinding -- Anna Funder This psychological thriller examines what happens when the lines between victim and predator, loyalty and obsession become blurred' * Mail on Sunday *

In the Garden of the Fugitives

We also recommend books

Strony www Białystok Warszawa
801 777 223