Księgarnia naukowa
English Polski
Dostęp on-line

Książki

0.00 PLN
Schowek (0) 
Schowek jest pusty
The Library of Ice

The Library of Ice

Autorzy
Wydawnictwo Simon & Schuster
Data wydania 01/11/2018
Wydanie Pierwsze
Liczba stron 336
Forma publikacji książka w miękkiej oprawie
Poziom zaawansowania Literatura popularna
Język angielski
ISBN 9781471169328
Kategorie Pamiętniki, Prawdziwe historie: odkrycia/historia/nauka, Geografia regionalna, Środowisko
67.00 PLN (z VAT)
$18.28 / €15.80 / £13.90 /
Produkt dostępny
Przesyłka w 2 dni
Ilość
Do schowka

Opis książki

`A wonderful book: Nancy Campbell is a fine storyteller with a rare physical intelligence. The extraordinary brilliance of her eye confers the reader a total immersion in the rimy realms she explores. Glaciers, Arctic floe, verglas, frost and snow - I can think of no better or warmer guide to the icy ends of the Earth' Dan Richards, author of Climbing Days A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing. Long captivated by the solid yet impermanent nature of ice, by its stark, rugged beauty, acclaimed poet and writer Nancy Campbell sets out from the world's northernmost museum - at Upernavik in Greenland - to explore it in all its facets. From the Bodleian Library archives to the traces left by the great polar expeditions, from remote Arctic settlements to the ice houses of Calcutta, she examines the impact of ice on our lives at a time when it is itself under threat from climate change. The Library of Ice is a fascinating and beautifully rendered evocation of the interplay of people and their environment on a fragile planet, and of a writer's quest to define the value of her work in a disappearing landscape. `The writer and poet offers reflections on ice and snow that draw on art, science and history... a dreamlike book.' - The Guardian `It is a sparkling and wonderful meditation on a substance we must cherish' - The Independent `It is a pleasant brew infused with elements not only of travel and history, but also of memoir and personal reflection'- Literary Review `Ms Campbell, a penniless but intrepid traveller, braves miserable bus journeys, freezing rain, dark and intense cold, but still manages to write rapturously of the beauties of the Arctic'- The Economist

The Library of Ice

Polecamy również książki

801 777 223