Księgarnia naukowa
English Polski
On-line access

Bookstore

0.00 PLN
Bookshelf (0) 
Your bookshelf is empty
The Age of Addiction

The Age of Addiction

Authors
Publisher Chicago University Press
Year 01/01/2021
Edition First
Pages 336
Version paperback
Readership level Professional and scholarly
Language English
ISBN 9780674248229
Categories General & world history, Psychological theory & schools of thought, Political ideologies, Behavioural economics, Economic history
$39.50 (with VAT)
150.01 PLN / €32.98 / £28.72
Qty:
Delivery to United States

check shipping prices
Product to order
Delivery 5-6 weeks
Add to bookshelf

Book description

"A fascinating history of corporate America's efforts to shape our habits and desires." -Sean Illing, Vox "[A] compulsively readable book about bad habits becoming big business...In crisp and playful prose and with plenty of needed humor, Courtwright has written a fascinating history of what we like and why we like it, from the first taste of beer in the ancient Middle East to opioids in West Virginia." -American Conservative "A sweeping, ambitious account of the evolution of addiction...This bold, thought-provoking synthesis will appeal to fans of 'big history' in the tradition of Guns, Germs, and Steel." -Publishers Weekly "A mind-blowing tour de force that unwraps the myriad objects of addiction that surround us daily...This intelligent, incisive, and sometimes grimly entertaining book will become the standard work on the subject." -Rod Phillips, author of Alcohol: A History We live in an age of addiction, from compulsive gaming and shopping to binge eating and opioid abuse. Sugar can be as habit-forming as cocaine, researchers tell us, and social media apps are deliberately hooking our kids. But what can we do to resist temptations that insidiously rewire our brains? A renowned expert on addiction, David Courtwright reveals how global enterprises have both created and catered to our addictions. The Age of Addiction chronicles the triumph of what he calls "limbic capitalism," the growing network of competitive businesses targeting the brain pathways responsible for feeling, motivation, and long-term memory. [A] compulsively readable book about bad habits becoming big business...In crisp and playful prose and with plenty of needed humor, Courtwright has written a fascinating history of what we like and why we like it, from the first taste of beer in the ancient Middle East to opioids in West Virginia. -- Micah Meadowcroft * American Conservative * A fascinating history of corporate America's efforts to shape our habits and desires. -- Sean Illing * Vox * One admires the eclectic sweep of Courtwright's catalogue of addictions, his sheer wealth of knowledge...As with all addictions, the book offers many pleasures and rewards. -- Lennard Davis * Times Higher Education * A sweeping, ambitious account of the evolution of addiction...This bold, thought-provoking synthesis will appeal to fans of 'big history' in the tradition of Guns, Germs, and Steel. * Publishers Weekly * An important addition to Courtwright's groundbreaking work on the history of substance use disorders, this study of the accelerating 'weaponiza

The Age of Addiction

We also recommend books

Strony www Białystok Warszawa
801 777 223